ADM Robert J. Papp, Jr., USCG (Ret.) - 2016 Distinguished Sea Service Awardee

Admiral Robert J. Papp, Jr., USCG (Ret.)

The Naval Order of the United States is proud to announce that Admiral Robert J. Papp, Jr., USCG (Ret.) will be recognized during our annual conference in Honolulu as a recipient of the 2016 Distinguished Sea Service Award. ADM Papp recently completed his tour of duty as Commandant of the Coast Guard.

The Distinguished Sea Service Awards are given “to recognize the exemplary service of a senior flag officer and senior enlisted of one of the maritime services, who has finished a continuous career of active service."

Robert J. Papp Jr. is a '75 graduate of the USCG Academy. Additionally, he holds a Master of Arts in National Security and Strategic Studies from the United States Naval War College and a Master of Science in Management from Salve Regina University.

ADM Papp is a cutterman. He served on six Coast Guard cutters and commanded four including the training barque USCGC EAGLE. His assignments ashore have included the Commandant of Cadets staff at the U.S. Coast Guard Academy and Chief of the Coast Guard’s Office of Congressional Affairs; and Deputy Chief of Staff of the Coast Guard.

In July 2008 he assumed the duties as Commander, Coast Guard Atlantic Area. He was the operational commander for all USCG missions within the eastern half of the world; ranging from the Rocky Mountains to the Persian Gulf and spanning an area of responsibility across 42 states with over 14 million square miles. He provided support to the Department of Defense; as the Chief of Staff of the Coast Guard and Commanding Officer of Coast Guard HQ.

ADM Papp was promoted to admiral and became the U.S. Coast Guard commandant on 25 May 2010. He made the first appointment in United States history of a woman to head a United States military academy when he designated Sandra L. Stosz to be superintendent of the United States Coast Guard Academy.

He retired on 30 May 2014 and was subsequently appointed to serve as U.S. Special Representative for the Arctic.